November 2018 was a milestone month for cannabis supporters in Utah; medicinal cannabis was legalized by the passage of Proposition 2 (Cannabis Act). Now, patients with qualifying conditions can enjoy medical marijuana health benefits without having to cross borders. However, that does not mean that you can purchase medicinal cannabis legally off the high street. Cannabis use is highly regulated, and there are a couple of conditions that one must fulfill to access high-quality cannabis products in Utah. This is a detailed guide on who, how, and where to find marijuana in Utah.
The first thing you will need is to qualify for this type of treatment, and then you will need a medical marijuana card. With this card, you will be able to access medical marijuana from a licensed Utah dispensary.
Here are all the details that you need.
Which Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana Treatment in Utah?
The following conditions qualify for medical cannabis in Utah:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Multiple sclerosis
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Chronic nausea that is not pregnancy-related or cannabis-induced
- Crohn’s disease
- Palliative patients with less than six months to live
- Rare diseases that affect less than 200,000 people in the U.S that is not adequately managed using conventional medications
- Chronic pain that is not adequately managed using conventional medications
How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card in Utah
If you are a resident of Utah, you can quickly get a medical marijuana card if you meet the requirements listed below. This card can only be legally obtained from the Utah Department of Health and not any other source.
- You must be a resident of Utah and provide a valid and current government-issued ID card.
- You must have a condition that qualifies for this kind of treatment
- You will need to submit an online application and pay $15 for the application
- You must be reviewed and certified by a medical provider who is registered under the Utah Department of Health
The Compassionate Use Board must review applications from minors, and the parent or guardian must also apply for a medical cannabis guardian card. Once you get a medical cannabis card, it will be valid for 90 days from the date that it was issued. The patient (or guardian) will then renew the card online. After that, the card will need to be renewed after every six months or one year after the first year has elapsed.
If you are not a resident of Utah and have a qualifying condition, you can apply for a Non-Utah resident card that will be valid for up to 21 days. You can make up two such applications each year.
Types of Medical Marijuana Cards in Utah
Patient Cards: For medicinal cannabis patients who are over 18 years.
Guardian Cards: For parents or guardians of minors (less than 18 years) who have been approved for medicinal cannabis treatment.
Provisional Patient Cards: For minors (less than 18 years) who have been approved for medicinal cannabis. The Compassionate Use Board must authorize the card.
Caregiver Cards: For carers of adult medicinal cannabis patients who are otherwise unable to take care of themselves but have qualifying conditions. The patients designate their caregivers.
Non-Utah Resident Cards: This is a temporary card that is issued to non-Utah residents who have a Utah qualifying condition and are visiting Utah.
Utah Medical Marijuana Card Fees
To apply for a medical marijuana card in Utah, you will need to pay a fee of $15. After the first 30 days, you will be required to pay a $5 renewal fee, and after six months, you will be required an additional $15 as a renewal fee. Application for a guardian card costs $68.25 and six month’s renewal costs $24. Application for a caregiver card costs $68.25, while the six-month renewal costs $14. A non-Utah resident card attracts a fee of $15.
Do you need a medical marijuana card to purchase CBD oil in Utah?
Hemp was legalized under federal law by the passage of the Agricultural Act of 2018. Therefore, it is legal to purchase hemp extracts such as CBD oil, but these products must be registered with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. You will not need a medical marijuana card to purchase any CBD product for as long as it contains less than 0.3% THC.
Where To Purchase Medical Marijuana in Utah
As of July 1st, 2021, Utah medical marijuana can be purchased from a licensed cannabis dispensary or pharmacy. Some pharmacies offer home deliveries in their areas, and one Utah pharmacy offers statewide delivery. You will need to check this on the pharmacy’s website. It is illegal to purchase cannabis from any other source or out of state.
Once you have completed your online application, you will need to wait 15 days or less to get approval. However, if you are less than 21 years and do not have a qualifying condition, you may have to wait for 90 days to have the application reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board.
How To Find a Qualified Medical Provider to Recommend Medical Marijuana
You can find a qualified medical provider to recommend medical marijuana from the Utah Department of Health (UDOH). The UDOH lists include QMPs who have allowed the department to post their names on the site. This list has the name of the QMP, their qualification and specialty, and contact information. Medical providers are at liberty to decide whether they would like to participate in the QMP program.
Medical Marijuana Products That Are Legal to Purchase in Utah
Once you have a medical marijuana card, you will be allowed to purchase any of the following cannabis products from a medical cannabis pharmacy:
- Tablets and capsules
- Transdermal patches
- Gelatinous cubes
Cannabis products that are prohibited include:
- Smokable forms
- Edibles such as cookies, brownies, and candies
How Much Marijuana Can You Legally Possess in Utah?
Medicinal cannabis patients and their guardians can possess an amount of cannabis that is sufficient for up to 30 days, nothing more than that. This amount should not exceed 113 grams of flower (unprocessed) and a maximum of 20 grams of THC (total composite).
Is Marijuana Legal in Utah?
While medicinal cannabis is legal in Utah, recreational marijuana is not. You should, however, be aware that medicinal cannabis is not legal under federal law. However, the Cannabis Act requires that employers (state and local government) treat medicinal cannabis in the same way they treat opioids. This also means that medicinal cannabis patients do not enjoy renter protections. On the other hand, private employers are at liberty to design their policies, which include having zero tolerance for cannabis use.
Medical marijuana patients in Utah must ensure that they abide by the law by ensuring that they have a valid medical marijuana card, purchase the cannabis from a licensed dispensary, and do not exceed possession limits. All in all, patients with qualifying conditions can enjoy high-quality cannabis from licensed dispensaries without risk.